New Release Review | The Magician Murders Josh Lanyon

The Magician Murders by Josh Lanyon The Art of Murder #3 M/M Cozy Mystery March 29, 2018 About the Book: Nothing up his sleeves. Nothing but murder… Jason West, hot shot special agent with the FBI’s Art Crime Team, is recuperating from a recent hit-and-run accident at the Wyoming home of BAU Chief Sam Kennedy […]

Early Review | Murder Takes the High Road by Josh Lanyon

Murder Takes the High Road by Josh Lanyon Standalone M/M Cozy Mystery Carina Press | April 23, 2018 About the Book: From award-winning male/male author Josh Lanyon: a librarian finds himself in a plot right out of one of his favorite mystery novels Librarian Carter Matheson is determined to enjoy himself on a Scottish bus tour […]

Book Report Day! The Hating Game

Sharing a good book with friends is one of the best part of being a reader!  So when my friend Jenn came up with the idea buddy reading The Hating Game, I jumped all over it. I got especially excited when she came up with the idea of writing up an elementary school book report […]

Review | The Hating Game by Sally Thorne

The Hating Game by Sally Thorne Standalone Romantic Comedy William Morrow | August 9, 2016 About the Book: Nemesis (n.) 1) An opponent or rival whom a person cannot best or overcome; 2) A person’s undoing; 3) Joshua Templeman. Lucy Hutton and Joshua Templeman hate each other. Not dislike. Not begrudgingly tolerate. Hate. And they have […]

Duo Review | Signs of Love by Anyta Sunday

I was crazy about Leo Loves Aries.  I hadn’t read a book in a long time that gave me that level of joy.  It came at a time when I really needed it, and it sealed my interest in any books by Anyta Sunday.  It was honestly that flipping good. It was SO good I […]

Early Review | A Wish Upon the Stars TJ Klune

A Wish Upon the Stars by TJ Klune The Tales of Verania #4 Destiny, Fuck Yeah! #3 M/M Comedic Fantasy Dreamspinner Press | March 27, 2018 About the Book: Nearly a year ago, blinded by grief and betrayal, Sam of Wilds made a desperate decision to follow the Great White into the Dark Woods. Now, he […]

Book vs Movie | Love, Simon

It’s the age old question asked by any film or print fan around the planet. I know how many times I’ve been asked, ‘why would you read that, they made a movie?’ Obviously it’s because the book is always better. But is it really? Goodreads Synopsis: Sixteen-year-old and not-so-openly gay Simon Spier prefers to save […]

Review | Turn Coat by Jim Butcher

Turn Coat by Jim Butcher The Dresden Files #11 Urban Fantasy April 7, 2009 About the Book: When it comes to the magical ruling body known as the White Council, Harry keeps his nose clean and his head down. For years, the Council has held a death mark over Harry’s head. He’s still thought of […]

Review | Let it Snow by Heidi Cullinan

Let it Snow by Heidi Cullinan Minnesota Christmas #1 M/M Romance August 30, 2017 About the Book: The weather outside is frightful, but this Minnesota northwoods cabin is getting pretty hot. Stylist Frankie Blackburn never meant to get lost in Logan, Minnesota, but his malfunctioning GPS felt otherwise, and a record-breaking snowfall ensures he won’t […]

New Release Review | Lake Silence by Anne Bishop

Lake Silence by Anne Bishop The Others #6 Urban Fantasy Ace | March 6, 2018 About the Book: In this thrilling and suspenseful fantasy, set in the world of the New York Times bestselling Others series, Vicki DeVine and her lodger, the shapeshifter Aggie Crowe, stumble onto a dead body . . . and find themselves enmeshed […]

New Release Review | More Than We Can Tell by Brigid Kemmerer

More Than We Can Tell by Brigid Kemmerer YA Contemporary Bloomsbury Children’s | March 6, 2018 About the Book: *While this book exists in the same universe as Letters to the Lost, it is a standalone title.* Rev Fletcher is battling the demons of his past. But with loving adoptive parents by his side, he’s managed […]

‘What Took Me So Long’ Reviews

Damen is a warrior hero to his people, and the rightful heir to the throne of Akielos. But when his half brother seizes power, Damen is captured, stripped of his identity, and sent to serve the prince of an enemy nation as a pleasure slave. Beautiful, manipulative, and deadly, his new master, Prince Laurent, epitomizes […]

Early Review | Where Death Meets the Devil by LJ Hayward

Where Death Meets the Devil by LJ Hayward M/M Romantic Suspense Riptide Publishing | February 6, 2018 About the Book: Jack Reardon, former SAS soldier and current Australian Meta-State asset, has seen some messy battles. But “messy” takes on a whole new meaning when he finds himself tied to a chair in a torture shack, his […]

New Release Review | Iron Gold by Pierce Brown

Iron Gold by Pierce Brown Red Rising #4 Science Fiction Del Rey Books | January 16, 2018 About the Book: They call him father, liberator, warlord, Reaper. But he feels a boy as he falls toward the pale blue planet, his armor red, his army vast, his heart heavy. It is the tenth year of […]

New Release Review Tour | Next Year in Havana by Chanel Cleeton

Next Year in Havana by Chanel Cleeton Women’s Fiction/Historical Fiction Penguin/Berkley | February 6, 2018 About the Book: After the death of her beloved grandmother, a Cuban-American woman travels to Havana, where she discovers the roots of her identity–and unearths a family secret hidden since the revolution… Havana, 1958. The daughter of a sugar baron, […]

New Release Review | Agent Bayne by Jordan Castillo Price

Agent Bayne by Jordan Castillo Price PsyCop #9 M/M Urban Fantasy JCP Books LLC | January 16, 2018 About the Book: Victor Bayne is through with the Chicago PD. Can he handle the FPMP? After years of frustration as a PsyCop, Victor Bayne reports for duty at the Federal Psychic Monitoring Program. As a fledgeling agent, […]

Beat the Backlist Series Review | Immemorial Year by TJ Klune

About Book One: Once upon a time, humanity could no longer contain the rage that swelled within, and the world ended in a wave of fire. One hundred years later, in the wasteland formerly known as America, a broken man who goes only by the name of Cavalo survives. Purposefully cutting himself off from what […]

Beat the Backlist Review | Alex, Approximately by Jenn Bennett

Alex, Approximately by Jenn Bennett Standalone Young Adult Contemporary Simon Pulse | April 4, 2017 About the Book: The one guy Bailey Rydell can’t stand is actually the boy of her dreams—she just doesn’t know it yet. Classic movie fan Bailey “Mink” Rydell has spent months crushing on a witty film geek she only knows online […]

Baby Chick’s Pick | Nevernight by Jay Kristoff

In a land where three suns almost never set, a fledgling killer joins a school of assassins, seeking vengeance against the powers who destroyed her family. Daughter of an executed traitor, Mia Corvere is barely able to escape her father’s failed rebellion with her life. Alone and friendless, she hides in a city built from […]

New Release Review | Busted by Gina Ciocca

Busted by Gina Ciocci Standalone Young Adult Contemporary Sourcebooks Fire | January 2, 2018 About the Book: Catching cheaters and liars is a lucrative hobby—until you fall for one of the suspects. Perfect for fans of Veronica Mars, this new novel from the author of Last Year’s Mistake will steal your heart! Marisa never planned […]

Duo Review | DC Icons #1 & #2

Wonder Woman: Warbringer by Leigh Bardugo DC Icons #1 Random House | August 28, 2017 About the Book:  Daughter of immortals. Princess Diana longs to prove herself to her legendary warrior sisters. But when the opportunity finally comes, she throws away her chance at glory and breaks Amazon law—risking exile—to save a mortal. Diana will […]

Early Bird Review | Down by Contact by Santino Hassell

Down by Contact by Santino Hassell The Barons #2 M/M Contemporary Romance InterMix | January 16, 2018 About the Book:  Two rival football players begin a game with higher stakes than the Super Bowl in this steamy romance from the author of Illegal Contact.  Simeon Boudreaux, the New York Barons’ golden-armed quarterback, is blessed with irresistible […]

Newly Hatched Review | Rebel by Rhys Ford

About the Book: The hardest thing a rebel can do isn’t standing up for something — it’s standing up for himself. Life takes delight in stabbing Gus Scott in the back when he least expects it. After years of running from his past, present and the dismal future every social worker predicted for him, Karma […]

The Bookish Naughty List Book Tag

I stumbled onto The Bookish Naughty List on Lia’s blog, Lost in a Story.  As soon as I saw this Book Tag I knew I had to give it a chance.  It was so original!  I love tags, but sometimes I feel like I’m answering the same questions over and over.  When one jumps out […]