New Release Review | More Than We Can Tell by Brigid Kemmerer

More Than We Can Tell by Brigid Kemmerer YA Contemporary Bloomsbury Children’s | March 6, 2018 About the Book: *While this book exists in the same universe as Letters to the Lost, it is a standalone title.* Rev Fletcher is battling the demons of his past. But with loving adoptive parents by his side, he’s managed […]

Beat the Backlist Review | Alex, Approximately by Jenn Bennett

Alex, Approximately by Jenn Bennett Standalone Young Adult Contemporary Simon Pulse | April 4, 2017 About the Book: The one guy Bailey Rydell can’t stand is actually the boy of her dreams—she just doesn’t know it yet. Classic movie fan Bailey “Mink” Rydell has spent months crushing on a witty film geek she only knows online […]

New Release Review | Busted by Gina Ciocca

Busted by Gina Ciocci Standalone Young Adult Contemporary Sourcebooks Fire | January 2, 2018 About the Book: Catching cheaters and liars is a lucrative hobby—until you fall for one of the suspects. Perfect for fans of Veronica Mars, this new novel from the author of Last Year’s Mistake will steal your heart! Marisa never planned […]

Review | The Start of Me and You by Emery Lord

About the Book: It’s been one year since it happened… When Paige Hancock’s first boyfriend died in a swimming accident, she shut out almost everyone. Now Paige has decided it’s finally time to rejoin the world, and she has a plan. First on the list: go out with Ryan Chase, her longtime and newly single […]

Feather your House with Books – YA Romance Reviews

About the Book:  Theodore Finch is fascinated by death, and he constantly thinks of ways he might kill himself. But each time, something good, no matter how small, stops him.   Violet Markey lives for the future, counting the days until graduation, when she can escape her Indiana town and her aching grief in the wake of […]

Early Bird Review | Moxie by Jennifer Mathieu

About the Book: An unlikely teenager starts a feminist revolution at a small-town Texan high school in the new novel from Jennifer Matheiu, author of The Truth About Alice. MOXIE GIRLS FIGHT BACK!Vivian Carter is fed up. Fed up with a school administration at her small-town Texas high school that thinks the football team can do […]

Girl Talk! The Teenage Perspective

Sophie from Beware of the Reader recently began a feature called Mini-Me Pick, similar to Baby Chick’s Pick.  We decided a collaboration was in order so, with Sophie’s daughter Julie and Baby Chick’s/Alex’s help, we’ve brought you twice the teenage perspective! Julie and Alex are strong teenage girls, in every way.  Alex is a 13 […]

Review | Eliza and Her Monsters

About the Book: Her story is a phenomenon. Her life is a disaster. In the real world, Eliza Mirk is shy, weird, and friendless. Online, she’s LadyConstellation, the anonymous creator of the wildly popular webcomic Monstrous Sea. Eliza can’t imagine enjoying the real world as much as she loves the online one, and she has no […]

Early Bird Review | First We Were IV

About the Book: It started for pranks, fun, and forever memories. A secret society – for the four of us. The rules: Never lie. Never tell. Love each other. We made the pledge and danced under the blood moon on the meteorite in the orchard. In the spot we found the dead girl five years […]

Blog Tour Review & Giveaway | Internet Famous

This book cover was what lured me in. It’s so cute! And then of course it’s about blogging, fandoms, and the evil that is the Trolls. When I saw this blog tour I knew I had to join. Thank you to The Fantastic Flying Book Club for hosting this Blog Tour, and letting me join […]

Newly Hatched Review | Vigilante

About the Book: A brutally honest, uncompromising story about a teen girl who decides to take matters into her own hands. It’s senior year, and Hadley and her best friend, Magda, should be starting the year together. Instead, Magda is dead and Hadley is alone. Raped at a party the year before and humiliated, Magda […]

Newly Hatched Review | Letters to the Lost

About the Book: Juliet Young always writes letters to her mother, a world-traveling photojournalist. Even after her mother’s death, she leaves letters at her grave. It’s the only way Juliet can cope. Declan Murphy isn’t the sort of guy you want to cross. In the midst of his court-ordered community service at the local cemetery, […]

Newly Hatched Review | The Inexplicable Logic of my Life

The Inexplicable Logic of My Life Standalone YA Contemporary Clarion Books | March 7, 2017 About the Book: Everything is about to change. Until this moment, Sal has always been certain of his place with his adoptive gay father and their loving Mexican-American family. But now his own history unexpectedly haunts him, and life-altering events force him and […]

Beat the Backlist Review | More Happy Than Not

About the Book: In his twisty, gritty, profoundly moving New York Times bestselling-debut—also called “mandatory reading” and selected as an Editors’ Choice by the New York Times—Adam Silvera brings to life a charged, dangerous near-future summer in the Bronx. In the months after his father’s suicide, it’s been tough for sixteen-year-old Aaron Soto to find […]

Early Bird Review | The Radius of Us

About the Book: What happens when you fall in love with someone everyone seems determined to fear? Ninety seconds can change a life — not just daily routine, but who you are as a person. Gretchen Asher knows this, because that’s how long a stranger held her body to the ground. When a car sped […]

Newly Hatched Review | The Hundred Lies of Lizzie Lovett

h About the Book: Hawthorn wasn’t trying to insert herself into a missing person’s investigation. Or maybe she was. But that’s only because Lizzie Lovett’s disappearance is the one fascinating mystery their sleepy town has ever had. Bad things don’t happen to popular girls like Lizzie Lovett, and Hawthorn is convinced she’ll turn up at […]

Review | Mosquitoland

2016 Birdie Book Award Winner   About the Book: “I am a collection of oddities, a circus of neurons and electrons: my heart is the ringmaster, my soul is the trapeze artist, and the world is my audience. It sounds strange because it is, and it is, because I am strange.” After the sudden collapse […]

Review | I’ll Meet You There by Heather Demetrios

Title: I’ll Meet You There Series: Standalone Author: Heather Demetrios Genre: YA Contemporary Publisher: Henry Holt and Co Published: February 3, 2015 Rating: 4.5 Feathers About the Book: If Skylar Evans were a typical Creek View girl, her future would involve a double-wide trailer, a baby on her hip, and the graveyard shift at Taco Bell. But after graduation, the […]