New Release Review | More Than We Can Tell by Brigid Kemmerer

More Than We Can Tell by Brigid Kemmerer YA Contemporary Bloomsbury Children’s | March 6, 2018 About the Book: *While this book exists in the same universe as Letters to the Lost, it is a standalone title.* Rev Fletcher is battling the demons of his past. But with loving adoptive parents by his side, he’s managed […]

Beat the Backlist Review | Alex, Approximately by Jenn Bennett

Alex, Approximately by Jenn Bennett Standalone Young Adult Contemporary Simon Pulse | April 4, 2017 About the Book: The one guy Bailey Rydell can’t stand is actually the boy of her dreams—she just doesn’t know it yet. Classic movie fan Bailey “Mink” Rydell has spent months crushing on a witty film geek she only knows online […]

New Release Review | Busted by Gina Ciocca

Busted by Gina Ciocci Standalone Young Adult Contemporary Sourcebooks Fire | January 2, 2018 About the Book: Catching cheaters and liars is a lucrative hobby—until you fall for one of the suspects. Perfect for fans of Veronica Mars, this new novel from the author of Last Year’s Mistake will steal your heart! Marisa never planned […]

Duo Review | DC Icons #1 & #2

Wonder Woman: Warbringer by Leigh Bardugo DC Icons #1 Random House | August 28, 2017 About the Book:  Daughter of immortals. Princess Diana longs to prove herself to her legendary warrior sisters. But when the opportunity finally comes, she throws away her chance at glory and breaks Amazon law—risking exile—to save a mortal. Diana will […]

Review | Our Dark Duet by Victoria Schwab

About the Book: THE WORLD IS BREAKING. AND SO ARE THEY. KATE HARKER isn’t afraid of monsters. She hunts them. And she’s good at it. AUGUST FLYNN once yearned to be human. He has a part to play. And he will play it, no matter the cost. THE WAR HAS BEGUN. THE MONSTERS ARE WINNING. Kate will […]

Review | The Start of Me and You by Emery Lord

About the Book: It’s been one year since it happened… When Paige Hancock’s first boyfriend died in a swimming accident, she shut out almost everyone. Now Paige has decided it’s finally time to rejoin the world, and she has a plan. First on the list: go out with Ryan Chase, her longtime and newly single […]

Review | Speak Easy, Speak Love by McKelle George

About the Book: Six teenagers’ lives intertwine during one thrilling summer full of romantic misunderstandings and dangerous deals in this sparkling retelling of Shakespeare’s Much Ado About Nothing. After she gets kicked out of boarding school, seventeen-year-old Beatrice goes to her uncle’s estate on Long Island. But Hey Nonny Nonny is more than just a […]

Happy Halloween with a MONSTER review!

I knew as soon as I finished Shades of Magic I’d be binging Victoria Schwab’s backlist of books.  Everything about Shades of Magic was so epic, so exciting and original, I knew it wasn’t a fluke.  I also knew that the next series I wanted to try was Monsters in Verity.  Look at it!  It’s […]

Feather your House with Books – YA Romance Reviews

About the Book:  Theodore Finch is fascinated by death, and he constantly thinks of ways he might kill himself. But each time, something good, no matter how small, stops him.   Violet Markey lives for the future, counting the days until graduation, when she can escape her Indiana town and her aching grief in the wake of […]

Early Bird Review | Monster by Michael Grant

About the Book: In the stunning follow-up to the globally bestselling Gone series, Michael Grant continues the story of the teens who morph into superheroes—and supermonsters—when they ingest an alien virus. Four years after the events of the FAYZ, new meteorites are hitting Earth, and the whole world is exposed to a strange alien virus […]

Newly Hatched Review | The Uncrossing by Melissa Eastlake

About the Book: Luke can uncross almost any curse—they unravel themselves for him like no one else. So working for the Kovrovs, one of the families controlling all the magic in New York, is exciting and dangerous, especially when he encounters the first curse he can’t break. And it involves Jeremy, the beloved, sheltered prince […]

Review | Masked by JD Wright

About the Book: Vada’s To-Do List: – Turn 18 (check!) – Register super name – Order supersuit – Attend superhero indoctrination – Graduate high school – Start kicking criminal tail Vada Lawson can’t wait to be a superhero. Born into a family with special powers, she’s been training to fight criminals and villains her whole […]

Newly Hatched Review | The Phobia of Renegade X by Chelsea Campbell

About the Book: Damien’s always been afraid of heights, but he’s never been afraid of fieldwork or of being in the spotlight. At least, he wasn’t before the gala—the one where his grandpa nearly caused a massacre and heroes from the League almost killed his best friend. Now he finds himself dreading the very things […]

Early Bird Review | Moxie by Jennifer Mathieu

About the Book: An unlikely teenager starts a feminist revolution at a small-town Texan high school in the new novel from Jennifer Matheiu, author of The Truth About Alice. MOXIE GIRLS FIGHT BACK!Vivian Carter is fed up. Fed up with a school administration at her small-town Texas high school that thinks the football team can do […]

Review | Siege and Storm by Leigh Bardugo

Today was supposed to be the day where we discussed our read-along of Siege & Storm.  Unfortunately unseen forces called ‘work’ and ‘real life’ hindered our plans.  Instead of discussing, we’ll be posting our own reviews.  Below is mine, and stay tuned for Angie’s! Please let me know what you make of my review/thoughts in […]

Girl Talk! The Teenage Perspective

Sophie from Beware of the Reader recently began a feature called Mini-Me Pick, similar to Baby Chick’s Pick.  We decided a collaboration was in order so, with Sophie’s daughter Julie and Baby Chick’s/Alex’s help, we’ve brought you twice the teenage perspective! Julie and Alex are strong teenage girls, in every way.  Alex is a 13 […]

Review | Eliza and Her Monsters

About the Book: Her story is a phenomenon. Her life is a disaster. In the real world, Eliza Mirk is shy, weird, and friendless. Online, she’s LadyConstellation, the anonymous creator of the wildly popular webcomic Monstrous Sea. Eliza can’t imagine enjoying the real world as much as she loves the online one, and she has no […]

Discussion Post | Shadow and Bone by Leigh Bardugo (Shadow and Bone #1)

Welcome to Birdie Bookworm’s and Ba_BAMB’s first ever read along, in which we’ll be discussing the first Shadow and Bone book! This discussion is actually split into two parts, and you are currently on the second half.  To get the full discussion, click over to read part 1 on Angie Elle’s blog first, and remember […]

Review | The Gentleman’s Guide to Vice and Virtue

About the Book: Henry “Monty” Montague was born and bred to be a gentleman, but he was never one to be tamed. The finest boarding schools in England and the constant disapproval of his father haven’t been able to curb any of his roguish passions—not for gambling halls, late nights spent with a bottle of […]

Early Bird Review | First We Were IV

About the Book: It started for pranks, fun, and forever memories. A secret society – for the four of us. The rules: Never lie. Never tell. Love each other. We made the pledge and danced under the blood moon on the meteorite in the orchard. In the spot we found the dead girl five years […]

Audio Book Reviews

Audio books and I have had a very tumultuous relationship. I’ve always been interested, but I struggled with staying focused while reading. I found that listening while cleaning, or working around the house was a bad idea, and since I didn’t drive my listening time was hampered.  I thought the problem was me. I’m a […]

Blog Tour Review & Giveaway | Internet Famous

This book cover was what lured me in. It’s so cute! And then of course it’s about blogging, fandoms, and the evil that is the Trolls. When I saw this blog tour I knew I had to join. Thank you to The Fantastic Flying Book Club for hosting this Blog Tour, and letting me join […]

Review | A Darker Shade of Magic

About the Book: Kell is one of the last travelers–magicians with a rare, coveted ability to travel between parallel universes connected by one magical city. There’s Grey London, dirty and boring, without any magic, and with one mad King–George III. Red London, where life and magic are revered–and where Kell was raised alongside Rhy Maresh, […]